Bedroom light jig

I have spent the last few days drawing up the jig for making the steel section of my bedroom light.  I have emailed this off to DJCAD to get printed in resin.  I have made the triangles about double the size of my jewellery work as I know how long it will take me to weld the piece together.  The last time I made something of this scale was my 3D printed bowl I made in 2007 which took 1,200,000 zaps of the laser and over a month of 9-5pm to make.  I am hoping the change in scale will cut down some of the build time by about a week.  I have also thought about what size of wire I will use to make the piece.

bowl

Karen-Ann Dicken: Laser welded bowl- 2007

I usually use 0.5mm steel, which is about the thinnest you can laser weld.  I think I may use about 0.8mm for the light which will make it a little stronger also, but without taking away from the aesthetics.  I have made the holes on the jig 1mm with a 1mm wall thickness.  In the past I have made the holes smaller but this gives a higher risk of them filling with resin during the build.

  
Jig made in Rhino.

 

Leave a Reply

