Hammers and Mallets

Over the last few months I have been thinking a lot about the tools that I need and the ways in which I can innovatively use the 3D printing process whilst not spending more money than I would to just buy a tool.  I have gone through quite a few different ideas and developed my tooling to where I feel happy to now start testing prototypes.

mallet1

The mallet handle progressed from just directly 3D printing a mallet to breaking it down and looking at each part.  The first idea, was to CNC mill a multifunctional handle which could be used by screwing on and off mallet heads which could be printed or milled from different materials such as wood or hard resin.

I designed a handle which had a nice form and would have looked great in wood.  Before the chance came to mill this I had developed the idea further, which I was glad for.  I decided that I could go even further with the design of the tool and develop it specifically for my own use.  I took clay imprints of my handprints as I would be holding certain tools.  I then 3D scanned these to develop into handles for my tools.

mallet3

I have also been developing various hammers in CAD and testing the cost of them to 3D print against the cost to buy from reputable jewellery suppliers.  The average cost of a jewellers hammer is around £15-£30 depending on the use.  There are some more expensive hammers around £60-£80 with changeable heads.

hammerhead

I kept developing and changing my hammer to make it affordable to print.  I managed to get the cost down to £24.02 to be printed in steel.  One advantage to 3D printing this was that I was able to customise the hammer head with my hallmark.  I will make a separate handle for this hammer to the mallet as it is much smaller.  I may either carve one in wood using my 3D printed chisel or CNC mill another handle with my handprint engrained.

hammerhead.4

 

Leave a Reply

